The Untuning of The Sky – New Commission at York Mediale – 29th Sept 2018

Screen Shot 2018-08-24 at 17.40.29

Image by Laura Spark

Laura Cannell (Double Recorders & Overbow Violin) and visual artist Laura Spark, with support from special guests Rhodri Davies (Harp) and André Bosman (electronics).

The world premiere of a brand new commission for media arts festival York Mediale, is inspired by the ancient astrological idea of the Music of the Spheres ~ that the revolution of the planets generates a celestial harmony of profound and transcendent beauty which mortals cannot hear.

Laura Cannell draws on fragments of medieval and renaissance music, which are then discarded and re-imagined into new works for recorder and violin. Accompanied by oscillating electronics by André Bosman and in collaboration with Laura Spark, music and visuals fall in and out of balance, exploring the spaces between harmony and discord.

The Untuning of the Sky is made possible with financial support from The National Centre for Early Music. 

This event is supported by PRS Foundation’s The Open Fund.

Modern Ritual at Hull FREEDOM FESTIVAL 2nd September 2018

Screen Shot 2018-08-20 at 12.42.38

Sunday 2nd September at HULL MINSTER
“Tonight’s MODERN RITUAL features 3 musical performances from The Liverpool based ensemble Ex-Easter Island Head who compose and perform music for solid-body electric guitar, percussion and other instruments.

Laura Cannell who subverts our preconceptions of familiar instruments by playing two recorders simultaneously and deconstructing her violin to create otherworldly soundscapes, and

Hoofus (aka André Bosman) – a musician who produces electronic music of eerie wonder and feral yearnings, where oscillating melodic loops meld with distorted rhythms.”
Book here